San Francisco Plastic Surgeons Win National Book Award

Facial Feminization—The Journey to Gender Affirmation

Authors: Jordan Deschamps-Braly, MD, and Douglas Ousterout, MD

The Independent Book Publishers’Association announces that Facial Feminization—the Journey to Gender Affirmation has received first place in the 34th annual Benjamin Franklin Awards.™ The book won in the health and fitness category. The authors are Jordan Deschamps-Braly, MD, and Douglas Ousterhout, MD, of San Francisco. This year’s award winners were honored during a dinner ceremony held on April 29, 2022 at the Renaissance Hotel in Orlando, Florida.

Celebrating excellence in book editorial content and design, the Benjamin Franklin Awards™ are administered by the Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA), the largest book publishers’ association in the US with more than 4,000 members.

Facial Feminization discusses facial cosmetic surgery procedures for transgender women. Topics covered include scalp advancement, chin feminization, forehead feminization, lower jaw tapering, temple augmentation, thyroid cartilage reduction, cheek contouring, lower jaw repositioning, nose reshaping, upper jaw repositioning, upper lip reshaping.

According to author Dr. Deschamps-Braly, “For many transgender women, having their facial features refined is an important step in their transition, with many considering it the most essential part of their transformation.

The annual book award competition honors the best in American Independent publishers across 57 categories. This year’s awards competition, for books with a copyright date of 2021, garnered over 1,900 individual entries. The judges for this year’s awards were 171 book publishing professionals including librarians, bookstore owners, reviewers, designers, publicity managers, and editors. For a complete listing of the 34th annual IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award™ winners in each of the 57 categories, visit

Founded in 1992, the publisher, Addicus Books, Inc, publishes best-selling consumer health books and other nonfiction. It is based in Omaha, Nebraska.

About the Ben Franklin Awards

The IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards, recognizing excellence in editorial content and book design, are regarded as one of the highest national honors for independent publishers. The awards are unique in that the verbatim judging forms are returned to all participating publishers, providing entrants with direct feedback on each submission.

About Independent Book Publishers’ Association (IBPA)

Founded in 1983 to support independent publishers nationwide, the Independent Book Publishers’ Association (IBPA) serves the independent publishing community through advocacy, education, and tools for success. It is the largest publishing association in the U.S. Its mission is to serve independent publishers. providing access to knowledge and tools needed to professionally engage in all aspects of an inclusive publishing industry. For more information, visit

+ posts

Dr. Deschamps-Braly is a board-certified plastic and craniofacial surgeon specializing in facial plastic surgery, orthognathic (jaw) surgery, and craniofacial surgery for adults and children. He is also one of the world’s foremost leaders and innovators in facial gender confirmation surgery.